SRC 2017

The Student Representative Council exists to provide opportunities for students to address the interests and concerns of students and to develop leadership skills. Assistant Principal – Ms Julie Ryan acts as the coordinator/facilitator and guides students to self-manage their procedures and raised issues. Training in proper meeting procedure is provided and motions are put forward, debated and voted on. Minutes are taken and then reported to School Council where the President and Vice President of the SRC play an active role, including full voting rights. They will also play an active role in the Whittlesea Youth Leadership Cluster.

The SRC has 20 members and is made up according to the following composition:

  • Year 12 – 2 School Captains,
  • 2 School Vice Captains,
  • 2 School Sport Captains
  • 4 Year 12 House Captains.
  • 2 Members of each year level from Years 7 to 11.

In 2017 the SRC continued with 10 Year 12 students to expand the leadership capacity of students within the school and allow the activities organised throughout the year to be shared amongst more of the senior students.

The SRC of 2017 will continue to work closely with the Whittlesea Youth Cluster, that will allow them to be involved in a variety of activities in 2017. Past activities have included the ‘Kids teaching Kids’ program that saw secondary school students involved with the cluster, running activities with the local primary schools, and a cluster breakfast with over 100 guests to celebrate youth week.

In 2017 the students will continue to raise the profile of the SRC around the school and include a variety of initiatives into their program, including looking at establishing more student led clubs and run a number of student led forums around topics chosen by them.

SRC Representatives for 2017

Year 7
Tamara Wilcox and Mazen Halabi
Year 8
Mikayla Aleksovski and Anastasia Apostolopoulos
Year 9
Suzie Halabi and Youseff Hoblos
Year 10
Meliz Bilgin and Octave Tuitea
Year 11
Elly – May Dreier and Clare Freeman
Year 12
School Captains: Giraud Arquisola and Oliver Tuitea
Vice Captains: Kosta Popovska and Siem Kear
Sports Captains: Michaela Winterstein and Seapan Sidiq
House Captains:

  • Dunlop : Tina Howe
  • Cowan : Maja Vujinovic
  • Bradman : Christine Lam
  • Paterson : Angela David